Board of Trustees

Allenvale is a specialist provider for students who are in the majority, verified as eligible to receive targeted funding through the Ongoing Resourcing Scheme (ORS).

We employ specialist teachers and a range of therapists including speech and language therapists, an occupational therapist, a physiotherapist, a psychologist and a music therapist. We have approximately 80 staff and 130 students. Our students are between the ages of 5 and 21 years.

The board of trustees was re-elected in 2016 and our role is to oversee the governance of Allenvale School. The board decides on policy matters and establishes operating procedures which then become the responsibility of the school’s management, through the principal, to implement and maintain. The board deals with a large number of governance challenges ranging from infrastructure to teachers’ permanent appointments.

Allenvale School entrance

Allenvale is a well-established special school which strives to maintain an educational environment where each student can learn both academic and life skills to the best of their ability.

Governance decisions are made with the students’ interests as the central underlying consideration.

Allenvale staff and the school community have a common goal to achieve the best educational outcomes for our students and work together to achieve this through a collaborative, inclusive approach, focussing on achievable goals and aspirations.

Allenvale is an evolving school, and keenly trials new technologies and educational approaches to assess their value for our students, and adopt these where appropriate.

Our principal, staff and board will work to continue to keep our school at the forefront of special education within Canterbury, with inclusivitiy and optimum outcomes for our students being the mainstay of our thinking. 


Graham Wood
Chair – Allenvale School Board of Trustees

Parents’ Representatives

Graham Wood
Mark Dawson
Michelle Palmer
Cushla Boyd
Jamie Gordon


Graeme H Daniel

Staff Representative

Megan Gare

Minute Secretary
Chrissy Mansbridge